The University of Edinburgh's Home Page
Sculptures by Phyllis Bone

Erinaceidae Solenodontidae Soricidae Talpidae Tenrecidae

Family: Tenrecidae (tenrecs)

Different numbers of species of tenrecs are recognised, from 23 (Nowak 1991) to 34 (MacDonald 1995). There are three subfamilies: the Potamogalinae (otter shrews), the Oryzoryctinae and the Tenrecinae. The tenrecids are remarkable in having the greatest diversity of any extant lipotyphlan family, and yet are confined largely to Madagascar. The otter shrews are also found in West and central Africa. Tenrecs have retained many ancestral characters of placental mammals, including a low and variable body temperature, retention of a common opening for both the urogenital and anal tracts (the cloaca), and undescended testes in the male. The dental formula of tenrecs varies considerably between species, reflecting the diversity of the family: i2-3/2-3, c1/1, pm2-3/2-3, m2-4/2-3 = 32 - 40. The upper molars are zalambdodont, except in the African otter shrews, in which they are dilambdodont.

Members of the subfamily Tenrecinae are relatively large and highly variable in body form. All have spines, which are barbed and detachable in some species, and controlled by a well-developed muscle called the panniculus carnosus. Other genera have soft fur. The mammae are often numerous - Tenrec ecaudatus has 12 pairs. The species of the subfamily Oryzoryctinae are small and lack spines. Most are shrew-like or mole-like, and one species in the genus Limnogale is aquatic. The Potamogalinae contains three species, all of which are aquatic and are termed otter shrews. They are well adapted for aquatic life, and resemble otters in overall appearance. They perhaps represent an early branch of the tenrec family.

Tenrec ecaudatus (Common Tenrec)